Home > Enjoying Life > Some gadgets don’t depreciate like they used to

Some gadgets don’t depreciate like they used to

photo via Wikipedia

photo via Wikipedia

Back in September of 2011 (in my less thrifty days), I bought a brand new tablet.  As those of you with tablets know, they’re tons of fun, but totally unnecessary.  I spent some great leisure time with that tablet reading and watching Netflix.  I figured I’d use it for a few years until the next cool gadget caught my eye, but instead I decided to get rid of it before it fully depreciated.  Only, it didn’t depreciate like most gadgets; I ended up making a 50% profit by selling it on Ebay.

The Backstory

When the HP Touchpad came out in February of 2011, it was selling for $500.  It was meant to be a competitor to the Ipad 2, but it didn’t really stack up.  it was heavier, and made of plastic, and the operating system didn’t have a lot of apps available like the Apple App Store.

Needless to say, it wasn’t especially popular.  Even the commercials annoyed me.  I was thinking about getting a tablet, but I wanted to get an Android tablet instead.

Anyway, I didn’t pay much attention to the sour sales of the Touchpad until one fateful day in September when HP all of the sudden dropped the price from $500 to $99.  They had decided to dump the hardware and would cease to support the operating system.

It seemed like they just wanted to clean out their inventory and be done with their mistake.  And it worked.  There was a mad rush for them at every store that had them.  So I went on HP.com and ordered one for myself.  A few days later the bright and shiny, brand new tablets showed up at my doorstep.

The Details

I paid a total of $105 (including shipping), and I received a functional tablet.  A few weeks later I successfully loaded the Android operating system (with the help of smart internet folk).

Anyway, I really enjoyed all that it could do.  Enjoying a morning coffee with the latest news streaming to my tablet is just one of my favorite activities.  It was great for a long while until the “shiny” factor began to wear off and I realized that it wasn’t that much more useful than my laptop.

My Clean Out Phase

A few months later, in July, I was trying cut out some of the “crap” I had unwittingly accumulated since I was finally starting to see that “stuff” doesn’t correlate with happiness.  So I checked out Ebay to see how much I could get for my tablet, and I ended up selling it for $155.

That’s a 48% return on investment.  Not bad for enjoying it for 9 months…

I guess the $99 I paid for it was  little under market value.  The thing is, you don’t see this too often.  I’m not a tech nerd to any extent, but I find it fascinating when electronics actually appreciate in value.

Finding Good Deals

In retrospect I should have purchased as many as I could, but hind site is 20-20…  My tablet purchase showed me that when companies make crazy (almost emotional) moves, there might just be an opportunity to take advantage…

Categories: Enjoying Life
  1. Canadian Performer's Money
    December 10, 2012 at 10:50 AM

    I bought a 16GB Blackberry Playbook when they dropped the price to $199. They have since dropped the price to $129.

    Doesn’t bother me. I love my Playbook and use it every day. The 7″ size means it fits in my pocket and I don’t pay a monthly contract to have an iPhone. There is free wifi everywhere downtown and I just surf the web or check emails for free.

    Funny everyone thought the iPad mini was unnecessary. The smaller size is the only way a tablet makes sense to me. If a tablet was so big that I needed a carrying bag, I would rather carry a Macbook Air and have a real keyboard.

  2. December 10, 2012 at 5:43 PM

    Yea, it’s funny how tablets are getting smaller and phones are getting bigger… I use my phone as a tablet, so who knows.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

CashRebel

Conventional Financial Wisdom is Overrated

#BrokeMillennials

Learning to be a fiscally responsible member of “Generation Me”

Solving The Money Puzzle

Putting the pieces together for a secure financial future.

Are Ya Gonna Eat That?

A blog to pass the time until my next meal

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

Evolving Personal Finance

Conventional financial wisdom is overrated

Prairie Eco-Thrifter

Go Green, Save Money, Live Healthy, Give Back, Have Fun

Planting Our Pennies

Money, Happiness, Kittens

Mr. Money Mustache

Early Retirement through Badassity

Eat Climb Travel

Travel tips and inspiration for the beginner solo traveler

The Money Puzzle

Putting the pieces together for a secure financial future.

Canadian Performer's Money

Financial education for performing artists

