Home > The Master Plan > An Introduction

An Introduction

Two years ago,  I knew almost nothing about my cash.  I didn’t know exactly how much I was making, I didn’t know where it was going, and I didn’t know what I should be doing with it.  I figured that if I followed the rules passed down to me from generations of hardworking people, I couldn’t go wrong.  Those rule went as follows.

  • Don’t live beyond your means (don’t buy a Maserati at age 25)
  • Cook most of your own food most of the time (Don’t eat at Applebees everyday)
  • Go to work everyday and try your best (no facebook at work!)
  • Don’t go into debt (credit cards are dangerous…)
  • And that’s it, the rest will take care of itself (Not everyone needs to be a financial planner)

It sounds ludicrous that an “educated” individual could know so little about his cash, but what’s truly ludicrous is that those 5 bullet points probably put me in better shape than the average 22 year old.  Assuming you have a good job, following those rules will probably keep you out of poverty, and provide for a fine financial life.  What I have realized since then, is that I have a chance to live a life on my own terms free from the burden of money.  Cash should not just be managed, blown, or dealt with, instead it should be grown and nurtured to yield a sustainable income stream for the future.

When I ask smart people how they spend their money, how much they save, and why, I get a lot of inconsistent answers.  I used to think that grown-ups understood some secret money principle that I didn’t understand, but now I see that even intelligent individuals do a lot of crazy shit with their cash.  Being ignorant about your cash is not a great excuse for flushing it down the toilet.  That’s why I am rejecting the “conventional wisdom” most people spew.  Instead I’ll take the rebel-path, and find out for myself.

By cutting out all forms of financial waste, increasing my income,  and by making smarter long term choices, I will attempt to avoid some of the financial pitfalls that befall most Americans.  I’m not saying that I’m smarter or luckier than most people.  I just think that most people don’t have a plan on paper to become financially independent, so why not give it a shot?  At the end of the day, you miss 100% of the shots you don’t take, and I think most people never even consider taking this shot.

This blog is meant to chronicle my journey towards financial intelligence.  I’m not saying it will be easy, but I believe that using my cash responsibly is a worthwhile pursuit.    I will take nothing for granted, and attempt to explain the inner workings of everything I do with my cash.  I will share what I have learned since my fateful first day of earning a salary, as well as what I learn along the way.  Join me in my quest to put my financial house in order, and join the cash rebellion.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

CashRebel

Conventional Financial Wisdom is Overrated

#BrokeMillennials

Learning to be a fiscally responsible member of “Generation Me”

Solving The Money Puzzle

Putting the pieces together for a secure financial future.

Are Ya Gonna Eat That?

A blog to pass the time until my next meal

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

Evolving Personal Finance

Conventional financial wisdom is overrated

Prairie Eco-Thrifter

Go Green, Save Money, Live Healthy, Give Back, Have Fun

Planting Our Pennies

Money, Happiness, Kittens

Mr. Money Mustache

Early Retirement through Badassity

Eat Climb Travel

Travel tips and inspiration for the beginner solo traveler

The Money Puzzle

Putting the pieces together for a secure financial future.

Canadian Performer's Money

Financial education for performing artists

