Home > Enjoying Life > The satisfaction of Frugalistic Synergy

The satisfaction of Frugalistic Synergy

Frugalistic Synergy

The other day, I happened to be going past a Target and decided to go in to get some Cumin (one of my favorite spices).  As I rounded the kitchen gadgets corner on my way to the spice aisle, a stand mixer caught my eye.  I do quite a bit of baking and stand mixer sounds like quite a luxury.

Anyway, the strange thing was that instead of trying to figure out how to afford it while playing with the store model, my brain did the opposite.  I suddenly screamed “I don’t need this stuff!  There’s nothing you have that I want!!!!” (in my head of course).  And I walked out of the kitchen gadgets aisle feeling empowered and ready to take on the world.

I guess once you consciously work on frugality for 3-6 months, you get so good at it that your body does it for you!

Impulse Decisions

After picking up the cumin I’d come for, I took a loop, long-ways, around the store.  I stopped at everything that I’d ever be remotely interested in having.  A 70 in TV, an Ab Roller, chocolate, touch screen gloves, a new table… And instead of desiring more and more stuff, my mind just laughed at the silly impulses I used to have.

A wise fellow once taught me to exercise my frugality muscle  and I would become stronger at rejecting the purchase of unnecessary stuff.

My muscle has grown to the point that it’s just a game now.  I enjoy looking at new gadgets knowing that I will walk away without the faintest hint of a desire to actually throw down my hard earned cash for it.

Frugalistic Synergy

I’ve realized now that different aspects of frugality have started to synergize to yield more than the sum of each separate activity.  This stuff is happening without me even knowing about it!

Consider, if you will, my commute to work each day.  It’s pretty crazy because I live an unreasonable distance form work (30 miles).  Because driving takes about at hour, is awful for the environment, and costs more, I take the train almost every day now.

The only thing is that I don’t live super close to the train.  When I agreed to live in my apartment, I figured I could take the bus to the 1.3 miles to the train station each day ($2/each way).

Since the weather was nice, I started walking the 1.3 miles to and from the train station each day.  Initially it was difficult and my body had to get used to hauling a my backpack with laptop each day.  Every once in a while I “cheated” and drove to work because I was lazy.

As time passed, I developed a routine.  I’d listen to NPR on the walk to the train, then check out some blogs and read my library book on the train ride.  It’s quite an enjoyable way to pass an hour or so.

The Results

Subtle changes started taking place.

  • I “cheated” less because I enjoyed reading on the train (which I can’t do if I drive)
  • I never started using the bus even once it got cold, windy and snowy (so I don’t have to pay bus fair)
  • I’m able to accomplish my goal of 10,000 steps per day just through this walk
  • My body got stronger from doing the 1.3 mile walk each day, so it gets easier and easier

I can’t explain it, but each of these activities combined to be greater than the sum of their parts.  Now I like my morning commute so much, I get a little grumpy if I ever have to drive.  It’s one of the bets parts of my day even if it’s snowing and 7 degrees outside.

Not only am I in good shape, but I keep learning more and more from NPR and the library books I read.  It’s like an endless cycle of prosperity!

  1. janesavers
    January 12, 2013 at 9:43 AM

    I need more frugal inspiration like this. I am attempting a no spend month in January but I still bought some fast food. The money it cost to buy the chinese dinner for 2 was enough money to buy 4 bags of milk or a 1 week supply of gas for my car.

    I worked to get my utilities, insurance, communications expenses lowered but I still blow money on junk. Bad for the waist and the wallet.

    • January 12, 2013 at 5:31 PM

      Isn’t it crazy how much more food costs at restaurants than it costs at home!? Don’t beat yourself up about slip ups. It’s all about moving in the right direction, a little optimism goes a long way!

  2. January 15, 2013 at 11:24 PM

    Love your blog. It’s very personable, applicable, and inspiring. I’m in that initial stage of frugality as I used to be an impulse buyer. No real flashy purchases but enough stuff to keep me from getting ahead. Now though I feel much better about the direction of my personal finances thanks to creating a plan and sticking to it (so far haha).

    • January 16, 2013 at 7:57 PM

      Thanks for the compliments Rick! I was so surprised at how much money I saved by not impulse buying cheap stuff. It seems counter intuitive, but now that I’m investing all the money I used to spend a Target I feel like I’ve got a good plan… We’ll see if it works out

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

CashRebel

Conventional Financial Wisdom is Overrated

#BrokeMillennials

Learning to be a fiscally responsible member of “Generation Me”

Solving The Money Puzzle

Putting the pieces together for a secure financial future.

Are Ya Gonna Eat That?

A blog to pass the time until my next meal

Homemade With Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

Evolving Personal Finance

Conventional financial wisdom is overrated

Prairie Eco-Thrifter

Go Green, Save Money, Live Healthy, Give Back, Have Fun

Planting Our Pennies

Money, Happiness, Kittens

Mr. Money Mustache

Early Retirement through Badassity

The Money Puzzle

Putting the pieces together for a secure financial future.

Canadian Performer's Money

Financial education for performing artists

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

