Home > Cutting Spending > Driving my gas costs into the ground!

Driving my gas costs into the ground!

Gas Costs
The IRS recently increased the business mileage reimbursement rate to 56.5 cents/mile.  A few months back, I showed that the marginal cost for driving my vehicle is more like 30.88 cents/mile.  Although this is cheaper than the IRS average, it’s still not great.
It got me thinking about my cost of driving, and how much I’m still spending on my car.  As you can see by my fuel costs over the past few years, I’ve made some progress but I’ve got a long way to go.
Continuous Improvement
To decrease costs, I’d either have to invest in a more fuel efficient vehicle (which wouldn’t be cost effective until my Subaru dies), or decrease my mileage.  So I guess I need to figure out how to stop driving so much!
I got my current job in March 2011, and the crazy commuting started.  Driving 60 miles/day.  At it’s peak, I was wasting $300/mo just on gas!  Although my records aren’t great from that time period, I estimate that I was driving a little over 20,000 mi/yr!
Now I’ve dropped it down to right around 9,000 mi/yr since I primarily take the train to work, but I’m not satisfied.  The average American in my age bracket drives about 15,000 mi/yr, so I’m doing alright, but I’d like to go lower.
Since I’m still spending about $100/mo on fuel, I’ve realized that there’s still gas I can cut from my budget.
Visiting friends in other states seems like a worthwhile investment, but maybe I can do it a little smarter.  Maybe I can take the train more (if available), or consolidate suburb trips so I see multiple friends while I’m out there.
I know the slope is trending downwards, but it’s still frustrating to see gas charges every month.  I wonder if I could purchase 0 gas in the month of February (since I already blew it in January).
Any suggestions on how to kick the driving habit while still being able to hang out with far away friends?
  1. Sweta
    January 9, 2013 at 10:28 PM

    Before you get gas maybe you could look up prices on gasbuddy.com and then go fill up at the nearest and cheapest station.

    When it comes to visiting friends who live far away, maybe you could see if they might be interested in meeting up at a location that is central to both of you.

    • January 10, 2013 at 6:12 AM

      Thanks fro the idea. I do actually use gasbuddy.com. It’s surprising how gas stations have such different prices! I’d estimate I save about $100-$200/yr just by checking for the best price!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

CashRebel

Conventional Financial Wisdom is Overrated

#BrokeMillennials

Learning to be a fiscally responsible member of “Generation Me”

Solving The Money Puzzle

Putting the pieces together for a secure financial future.

Are Ya Gonna Eat That?

A blog to pass the time until my next meal

Homemade With Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

Evolving Personal Finance

Conventional financial wisdom is overrated

Prairie Eco-Thrifter

Go Green, Save Money, Live Healthy, Give Back, Have Fun

Planting Our Pennies

Money, Happiness, Kittens

Mr. Money Mustache

Early Retirement through Badassity

The Money Puzzle

Putting the pieces together for a secure financial future.

Canadian Performer's Money

Financial education for performing artists

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

